Iowa Speedway News

  • Home
  • Iowa Speedway News

Auto Club Speedway Notes & Facts

Mar 21, 2013

Auto Club Speedway Notes & Facts:
• Groundbreaking for California Speedway, as Auto Club Speedway was originally known, took place in November 1995.
• The first race at Auto Club Speedway was a NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West race won by Ken Schrader on June 21, 1997.
• The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on June 22, 1997 and won by Jeff Gordon.
• September 2004 was the first night race at Auto Club Speedway and that also was the first year both the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series ran two races in a season there.
• The track name was changed to Auto Club Speedway (ACS) in February 2008.
• There have been 23 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Auto Club Speedway, the track hosted one NSCS race a season from 1997-2003, then two races per season from 2004-2010. In 2011 Auto Club Speedway returned to a single race season.
• 125 drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Auto Club; 105 in more than one.
• Three drivers have participated in all 23 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon and Bobby Labonte.
• Joe Nemechek won the inaugural pole with a speed of 183.015 mph (39.341 secs.)
• 15 drivers have poles at ACS, led by Kurt Busch with three.
• Kurt Busch (2006) and Jamie McMurray (2010) are the only two drivers to win consecutive poles at Auto Club Speedway.
• Youngest ACS pole winner: Kyle Busch (2/27/2005 - 19 years, 9 months, 25 days).
• Oldest ACS pole winner: Mike Skinner (4/30/2000  42 years, 10 months, 2 days).
• 14 different drivers have won at ACS, led by Jimmie Johnson (five). Three other drivers have multiple wins at Auto Club Speedway: Jeff Gordon and 2012 Daytona 500 champion Matt Kenseth each have three wins, Tony Stewart has two.
• Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Auto Club Speedway with nine, followed by Roush Fenway Racing with seven.
• California-native Jimmie Johnson became the first and only driver to win from the pole at Auto Club Speedway in 2008.
• Only two ACS races have been won from the front row both by five-time series champion Jimmie Johnson, fall of 2008 (pole); and the fall of 2007 (second-place).
• 12 of the 23 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Auto Club Speedway have been won from a top-10 starting position.
• Seven of the 23 races have been won from a starting position outside the top 20.
• The deepest in the field that a race winner has started was 31st, by Matt Kenseth in the spring of 2006.
• Youngest ACS winner: Kyle Busch (09/04/2005 - 20 years, 4 months, 2 days).
• Oldest ACS winner: Rusty Wallace (04/29/2001 - 44 years, 8 months, 15 days).

« back
  • Iowa Pork VanWall Prairie Meadows American Ethanol
  • Atlantic Bottling Company Pizza Ranch DEKALB Syngenta
  • Iowa Corn Promotion Board MEDIACOM Chevrolet MIDAMERICAN ENERGY
  • Mercy Medical Center SUKUP Casey's General Stores Featherlite Trailers
  • Miller Lite Iowa Corn Growers Association U.S. Cellular New Holland
  • Enlist