Iowa Speedway News

  • Home
  • Iowa Speedway News


Jun 17, 2013


Will RHR Also Repeat His 2012 Iowa Corn Indy 250 Victory?

Ryan Hunter-Reay, whose victory in the Milwaukee IndyFest last June was the springboard to claiming the IZOD IndyCar Series championship, repeated the achievement at the historic Milwaukee Mile.

The 32-year-old Fort Lauderdale, Fla., resident overtook race leader Takuma Sato on Lap 198 of 250 and went on to win by 4.809 seconds over Helio Castroneves.

Will Power finished third for his first podium of the season. E.J. Viso and James Hinchcliffe -- Andretti Autosport teammates to Hunter-Reay -- also were in the top five.

The last back-to-back winner at Milwaukee was Tony Kanaan in 2006-07, when he was driving for the Andretti team. It was the 47th IZOD IndyCar Series victory for the team and the fifth at Milwaukee.

Third in the standings entering this Father's Day weekend race, Hunter-Reay heads into the June 23 Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB 16 points behind the front-running Castroneves. Hunter-Reay won at Iowa Speedway last year, and made it three victories in a row at Toronto two weeks later.

An electrical issue on the No. 25 RC Cola car ruined the day for pole sitter Marco Andretti, who entered the race second in the standings and led 61 laps early on. Following repairs, Andretti re-entered the race on Lap 137 and soldiered on to not lose any additional points. He is third in the championship (50 points behind) after placing 20th.


« back
  • VanWall Mercy Medical Center Syngenta Iowa Corn Promotion Board
  • New Holland American Ethanol Blue Ox SUKUP
  • Autolite Chevrolet Casey's General Stores Iowa Corn Growers Association
  • Featherlite Trailers Iowa Pork Miller Lite Pizza Ranch
  • MEDIACOM DEKALB U.S. Cellular Atlantic Bottling Company