Iowa Speedway News

  • Home
  • Iowa Speedway News

Erik Jones Wins NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race At Iowa Speedway

Jul 11, 2014

NEWTON, Iowa (July 11, 2014) – Erik Jones and Ryan Blaney – two of NASCAR’s fastest rising stars – put on a display of talent and determination Friday night at Iowa Speedway. The two teenagers went side-by-side and at one point in the final laps, were both sideways battling for the lead. At the end of the American Ethanol 200 presented by Enogen, Jones was standing tall in Pizza Ranch Victory Lane and Blaney was left wondering what might have been.

Jones, who set the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series record as the youngest race winner last year at Phoenix International Raceway, picked up career win No. 2 in dominating fashion for Kyle Busch Motorsports. The 18-year-old from Byron, Michigan, led 131 of the 200 laps in his No. 51 ToyotaCare Toyota at “The Fastest Short Track on The Planet.”

But he didn’t get the win without a fight. With 16 laps to go, Blaney made it three-wide for the lead with Jones and a lapped car. Both Blaney and Jones were almost completely sideways momentarily before righting themselves. Jones emerged from the scuffle with the lead, then used another lapped car to put some ground between him and Blaney.

Blaney wound up second, followed by Matt Crafton, Joey Coulter and German Quiroga Jr. Blaney also moved up to second behind Crafton in the championship standings. Crafton’s lead is two over Blaney and seven over Sauter, who lost the points lead with an 18th-place run.

Ben Kennedy was the top Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender in sixth. Jeff Choquette, Cole Custer, rookie Tyler Reddick and John Hunter Nemecheck rounded out the top 10. Jones capped a great day for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Team owner Kyle Busch grabbed the pole at New Hampshire Motor Speedway – the site of Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race. Then, Darrell Wallace Jr. led a 1-2 start with Jones in Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

Wallace won his first 21 Means 21 Pole Award of the season and second of his career earlier Friday. He led the first 41 laps but lost two laps when the caution came out right after he made a green-flag pit stop. He rallied to finish 13th.

The Jones-Blaney duo showed once again that Iowa Speedway is a proving ground for up-and-coming drivers. Jones, along with Custer, is a member of the NASCAR Next program, an industry initiative designed to spotlight the top young talent in NASCAR. Blaney, Kennedy, Wallace and Jeb Burton (14th) are NASCAR Next alum.

About Iowa Speedway

Iowa Speedway, “The Fastest Short Track on the Planet,” is a state-of-the-art 7/8 mile asphalt paved tri-oval race track and motorsports facility located in Newton, Iowa. Our 2014 schedule includes three exciting race weekends: May 17-18 (NASCAR K&N Pro Series East/West and NASCAR Nationwide Series), July 11-12 (NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and IndyCar Series) and Aug. 1-2 (NASCAR K&N Pro Series East/West and NASCAR Nationwide Series). Great seats are still available. For tickets, call 1-866-RUSTY-GO. To learn more, visit, “like” us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @IowaSpeedway.

« back
  • Iowa Pork VanWall MEDIACOM Miller Lite
  • Casey's General Stores American Ethanol Iowa Corn Promotion Board Syngenta
  • New Holland U.S. Cellular Chevrolet Iowa Corn Growers Association
  • Featherlite Trailers Atlantic Bottling Company SUKUP Blue Ox
  • Mercy Medical Center