Josef Newgarden Wins His Third Race at Iowa Speedway

Defending INDYCAR Champ Completes Team Penske Weekend Sweep; Ty Gibbs Wins ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150

NEWTON, Iowa (July 18, 2020) — Josef Newgarden gave Team Penske a clean sweep of the IOWA INDYCAR 250s. Newgarden led 214 laps to make his third career trip to Casey‘s General Store‘s Victory Lane at Iowa Speedway. In the process, the driver of the No. 1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet became the first NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver ever to win from the pole at Iowa Speedway.

Newgarden has led at least 214 laps in four of the last six races at the 7/8s of a mile oval. His last win in the series dates to last July at the Fastest Short Track on the Planet. Newgarden, who finished fifth Friday night, came home 2.8 seconds ahead of teammate Will Power.

“I don‘t know what we‘ve got to do to keep the bad luck off us but hopefully this is a start,” Newgarden said. “Our guys did such a great job; I was angry for them (Friday). I was determined to come back and have a great race, and we just ran hard all day.”

Newgarden‘s victory completed the Team Penske sweep after teammate Simon Pagenaud charged from last place on the grid to win Race 1 of the INDYCAR Iowa 250s Friday night.

This weekend‘s Iowa INDYCAR 250s was the first doubleheader for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES at Iowa Speedway and the second consecutive weekend with fans back in attendance at the track. The NTT INDYCAR SERIES next races at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Sunday, August 9 at 12:30 p.m. CT.

Saturday Iowa Notebook

Notebook Items:
• Ty Gibbs Dominates at Iowa Speedway
• Huxley, Iowa residents step on the big stage during pre-race ceremonies
• INDYCAR legends serve as grand marshals both days

Ty Gibbs dominated the ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 in yet another impressive performance from the 17-year old driver. Gibbs led 140 laps and collected his second straight win and a third triumph in his last four races this season. Gibbs is the grandson of NASCAR team owner and Super Bowl-winning coach Joe Gibbs.

While he fended off challenges from Chandler Smith, Hailie Deegan and Sam Mayer at various points of the race, he finished 1.410 seconds ahead of Mayer. Mayer appeared to be closing fast in the final laps but he scraped the wall and was unable to mount a sufficient challenge to Gibbs. Deegan got as high as second place and had a strong car, only to see her day end abruptly due to a broken trackbar as she finished 18th.

The daughters of NTT INDYCAR SERIES tech official and Des Moines police officer Sean McCormick, a native of Huxley, Iowa, performed prior to each race on Saturday at Iowa Speedway. “God Bless America” was performed by 20-year-old Delaney McCormick just before the ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 race, while Madeleine McCormick, 24, performed the National Anthem before the start of the second Iowa INDYCAR 250 on Saturday night.

Two of the most popular drivers in the recent history of the NTT INDYCAR Series served as the Grand Marshals for the Iowa INDYCAR 250s at Iowa Speedway.

Tony Kanaan, the 2004 series titleholder and 2013 Indianapolis 500 champion, as well as the 2010 Iowa race winner, was honored before Friday night‘s 250-lap NTT INDYCAR SERIES race. Kanaan also delivered the most famous words in racing — “Drivers, start your engines” — from his car on the Iowa INDYCAR 250 starting grid before he raced the iconic No. 14 Chevrolet for A.J. Foyt Racing in the first race of the doubleheader weekend. Saturday‘s race marked TK‘s final ride at the Fastest Short Track on the Planet as he came home in 11th place.

On Saturday night, 2017 Iowa Speedway NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner Helio Castroneves served as Grand Marshall for the second Iowa INDYCAR 250 race of the weekend. A three-time Indianapolis 500 champ (2001, 2002, 2009) and winner of 30 series races over his distinguished career, Castroneves produced his last INDYCAR win three years ago at Iowa. He delivered a special video message to the fans at Iowa Speedway and gave the command for drivers to start their engines remotely as he was competing in the IMSA sports car race in Sebring, Florida this weekend. Castroneves‘ visit to Casey‘s General Store‘s Victory Lane gave Team Penske its 192nd INDYCAR win — most all-time — and its first at Iowa Speedway.