Simon Pagenaud Wins Race 1 of the Iowa INDYCAR 250s

Second INDYCAR Race and ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 set for Saturday at Iowa Speedway

NEWTON, Iowa (July 17, 2020) — Simon Pagenaud, last year‘s pole sitter at Iowa Speedway, drove from worst to first to win Race 1 of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES Iowa INDYCAR 250s Saturday. A fuel pressure issue on the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet during qualifying forced Pagenaud to start from the rear of the field.

After starting 23rd, Pagenaud claimed the lead on Lap 178 of the 250-lap race and held off Scott Dixon and Oliver Askew for his first win of 2020. The victory vaulted Pagenaud into second place in the championship standings and snapped a sweep of the first four races by Chip Ganassi Racing.

“Wow, this place is tough,” Pagenaud said. “What a night. What a day for us. Amazing group effort from the whole Team Penske. We unloaded really well. Qualifying was disheartening, but these guys never give up, and that‘s what this team is all about.”
This weekend‘s Iowa INDYCAR 250s marks the first doubleheader for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES at Iowa Speedway and the second consecutive series weekend that fans returned to the grandstands. Race 2 of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES Iowa INDYCAR 250s is set for Saturday at 8:30 p.m. CT.

Friday Iowa Notebook

Notebook Items:
• Defending Race Winner Josef Newgarden Wins the Pole for Race 2
• ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 Scheduled for Saturday at 4:30 p.m. CT
• COVID-19 Procedures for Attendees

Josef Newgarden, two-time and defending NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner at Iowa Speedway, won the pole for Race 2 of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES IOWA INDYCAR 250s. Newgarden‘s second lap of 175.333 mph earned him his third pole position start of 2020. The second race of the first-ever INDYCAR doubleheader at Iowa Speedway will take the green flag at 7:30 p.m. CT Saturday (NBCSN).

Qualifying featured a unique format in which the first of each drivers‘ two laps set the starting grid for Race 1, while each driver‘s second lap set their position for Race 2. Newgarden will lead a Team Penske 1-2 start Saturday alongside Team Penske teammate Will Power.

Newgarden started on the outside of the front row in Race 1 after posting a lap of 175.107 mph.

For the 14th time in the track‘s 15-year history, the ARCA Menards Series will compete at Iowa Speedway on Saturday. The ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 is one of 11 tracks one mile in length or shorter on the ARCA Menards Series schedule and the third round of the Sioux Chief Showdown.

Michael Self climbed the frontstretch fence in celebration in 2013 when he became the first West Series driver to win the annual East / West combination race. And both Sam Mayer and Chandler Smith claimed wins at The Fastest Short Track on the Planet last year. Iowa Speedway has been a staple of both the ARCA Menards Series as well as the East and West since it opened in 2006, hosting 31 events between the three series.

The ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, July 18.

Parking lots open at 11:30 a.m. CT Saturday. All guests will enter on Iowa Speedway Drive for contactless temperature and health screening inside their vehicle. Everyone will receive a face covering and hand sanitizer when they enter the facility and they are strongly encouraged to use both at the event. No fans will be allowed in the infield, which will be restricted to essential racing personnel only. There will be enhanced cleaning and sanitizing across the facility throughout the weekend. There will also be contactless ticket scanning at each gate and concession and merchandise areas will feature contactless transactions. Fans should plan to arrive early at Iowa Speedway to avoid congestion.